The Role of the Governing Body

The governing body is responsible for the conduct of its school, and must promote high standards of educational achievement at the school. It is the school’s accountable body and:

  • provides a strategic view of the school by establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school within an agreed policy framework. It appoints and performance manages the headteacher, agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes setting statutory targets with supporting budgets and staffing structures;
  • monitors and evaluates the work of the school by reviewing the performance of the headteacher, the effectiveness of the policy framework, progress towards targets, and the effectiveness of the school improvement strategy;
  • signs off the self-evaluation process and responds to school improvement service and Ofsted reports as necessary. In addition it holds the headteacher to account for the performance of the school and ensures that parents are involved, consulted and informed as appropriate, with information to the community being made available as required

The Governors meet as a whole group twice a term and at one of the meetings a representative of the LA is present as clerk.  In between, the various sub-committees and working groups meet.  Minutes of these meetings are circulated to all Governors electronically.  The Governors have to have some committees by law, for Hearings, Appeals and Pupil Discipline.  At St John’s CE VA Primary School, we also have committees for Admissions, Finance, Personnel and Curriculum.

Please contact our Governors through the following email address  

Our Governors:

Rev Mark Prentice: Chair of Governors and Ex-officio.

Roger Clark - Foundation governor - PCC

Stefanie Thorne: Chair of curriculum. Foundation governor-DBE

Ruth Loggie: LA Governor, Safeguarding

Anthony Turner : Parent Governor

Ellen Penny-Brookes : Parent Governor,  SEN

Graham Robinson: Foundation governor - PCC, Chair of Resources, 

Will Hopkins: Staff governor

Joanna Wilding: Foundation governor

Sonya O'Reilly: DBE Foundation Governor and Chair of Admissions

Janita Betts: Headteacher

Governors Pecuniary Interests 20-21

Governors Additional Information 20-21

Governor Meeting Attendance 2018/19

Governor Meeting Attendance 2019/20